This is a first. I’m sitting down to write a New Year’s resolution (I know, it’s a bit late). Not because it’s the hip thing to do, but more so because it seems appropriate. I don’t tend to do these because improvement comes by constant change and I don’t find it appropriate to wait for a new year to make those changes. But, a new year does provide a decent jumping off point and allows for a surprisingly fresh pair of eyes on what I want to see myself accomplish in the days, and hopefully years, to come. So in no particular order, here’s what I’d like to improve. And I’d like to share them with you so as to have written intent to do so, along with inviting you to engage in your own resolutions.

 

Humility

This one I believe we can all work on. But as an athlete, I tend to spend a lot of time on me. I must be aware of every small aspect that’s going on within and around me to gain the maximum benefits of training. This can easily lead to an inflated ego. But running is not about the ego; it’s about becoming better simply for the sake of seeing what is possible. There have been plenty of athletes before me who have experienced the “impossible” and there will be plenty more after me. I want to see what impossible limits I can reach for the sake of showing others it’s possible.

It’s not about me, it’s about those who support each other through the thick and thin and have faith in you every single day. It doesn’t have to be running, it doesn’t have to be athletic. If you’re fighting the good fight for the all the right reasons, I commend you. And even more so if you’re supporting someone who’s chasing what they believe in or are fighting for more, you’re the unsung hero. You’re just the support they need when they need it most. So please, keep supporting those you believe in.  I’ve seen a lot of amazing things happen in my lifetime based on just a little faith.

 

Sub 4:00

I’ve been working on this one for a while. Since my days in high school, I’ve dreamt of a sub 4:00 mile. I’ve been dancing with the damn thing for almost 5 years now. 4:00.01 I believe is my closest converted 1500, while I’ve run a 4:00.53 in an official mile. Or something like that, doesn’t matter, it’s not under that 4-minute barrier. I’d like to say it’s due to the fact that I don’t focus on it, but excuses be damned, I need to break that mark.

 

Community

Again, another one we can all work on. I’d like to think that I influence others through the sport I love. I try to engage myself within the running community wherever I can. But again, I want more. I’ve fallen off a bit in assisting at the senior citizen home I was volunteering at, but want to engage in similar community involvement. I’d like to see myself engage in my community’s youth, where I believe I may be able to positively influence those who may need it most.

There are a lot of cracks in this system we call society and the fact that any of our youth are overlooked is disheartening. I want to engage in as many meaningful ways as possible. From using athletics as an extension of ourselves in which we hope to make small improvements to create a better sense of self and discovery, to providing hope for those who have none. I’ve been blessed with a lot, and my family and health are key components of everything thereafter.

Here’s where you come in. If you’re aware of any youth sports programs, or youth engagement of any kind (children’s hospitals, Big Brother/Sister programs) within the Twin Cities, please let me know. I can’t engage in every single one, but I’d like to at least be aware of them if an opportunity to provide assistance does come up.

 

Family

Every family has their set of quirks. But I’m pretty damn lucky to be in the one that chose me. There have been plenty of times that have forced me to realize the full impact a family has. Having a third grandparent recently diagnosed with cancer has highlighted the fact that we’re only given a short amount of time here. I’m not one for dramatics and I certainly don’t want to make any of this negative in any sense, but I want to spend my time doing what I want to do with my fullest intent. And that includes spending more time engaged with my family.

My sister is having her first baby if you haven’t seen all of her FB posts or Pinterests pins. I look forward to being around for my niece and being that strange uncle…not that one, the other one. The goofy one that is received with warm welcomes every time I come to visit, along with being able to impart whatever wisdom I may have about the world to such a fresh pair of eyes. It takes a village, and I look forward to being a part of that village. That strange, strange village.

 

So I invite you to join me in my resolutions and welcome you to post your own. Feel free to limit yourself to the 140 character limit of Twitter by tweeting me @jonpeterson89, or add it to my FB page. You can also send me direct messages if you’re shy (I won’t share anything without your permission). Accountability is key in any commitment, and I will help hold you accountable if you’re willing to hold me accountable.

